We will do our best to answer your questions.
Frequently Asked Questions
We know how overwhealming it can be tring to find the right licensed massage therapy (LMT) CE provider for your education. Heck, remember back when you were looking for a massage school? This can be just as important! I think we have all been to some CE classese, on-line or at a massage school that were better than others, our money is a priceless commitity.
From time to time, requirements and standards change. We will do our best to answer any of your state questions as they are as of today! But don't forget check with you local regulationtory department for up-to-date information for the massage industry in your area.
Massage is currently regulated by DSHS until November 1, 2017 at which time the massage department will transfer to TDLR.
DSHS can be reached at:
Massage Therapy Licensing Program
Texas Department of State Health Services
Mail Code 1982
P.O. Box 149347
Austin , Texas 78714-9347
Telephone: (512) 834-6616
Fax: (512) 834-6677
Texas massage therapist are moving to a new department, TDLR -Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
In accordance with Senate Bill 202 (84th Regular Session, 2015), this licensing program is expected to transfer from DSHS to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) on November 1, 2017. Please visit the TDLR website at: https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/ and sign up to receive important email updates from TDLR on the transition.
Texas requires 12 hours of continuing education every 2 years.
Each state has its own requirements of what is acceptable as a CE course. Be sure that you check with your regulatory agency to verify that a course from NCBTMB is approved, as well, as the course subject you selected. For a link to all state boards,http://www.ncbtmb.org/map/requirements-map
If you know that your state will accept one of our CE classes, the next step is to look through the courses we offer and pick out one you like. From the course page, you will be directed to a place to pay for your course.
According to TDLR in Texas:
In accordance with the new rules, online CE in non-technique subjects is acceptable as of 2009.
All licensees are required to complete 12 clock hours of continuing education during each two-year license §140.320(a).
Hours are reported and collected through an audit system. Each Massage Therapist is required to attend programs or seminars to accumulate the hours, which will then be reported on a form. No proof of attendance is required except for the Massage Therapists who are selected for audit. Each registrant is required to maintain the records for a period of two years in the case of audit.
Acceptable Continuing Education includes attendance at and completion of department approved or recognized programs (other than the minimum 500 hour course of instruction required for licensure), institutes, seminars, workshops, state or national conferences, advanced course work, or college and university academic courses that are:
(1) directly related to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of massage therapy and the manipulation of soft tissue, massage therapy laws and rules, business practices, professional ethics, anatomy, physiology, hydrotherapy, kinesiology, pathology, or health and hygiene; or (2) first aid and/or CPR, not to exceed six hours total each renewal period; or
(3) advanced massage therapy or bodywork techniques acceptable to the department; and
(4) designed to increase and enhance professional knowledge, skills, or competence in the practice of massage therapy.
Continuing education approved or recognized by the department must be developed and presented by qualified persons.
(1) Massage therapy techniques and courses involving the manipulation of soft tissue must be taught or presented by a licensed massage therapy instructor. Advanced massage therapy or bodywork techniques must be taught or presented by persons with licensure, registration, or education in the technique being presented.
(2) Courses, other than techniques, may be taught or presented by persons with licensure, registration, education or practical experience in the subject being presented. Instructors teaching CPR must be certified as CPR instructors by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross, or the National Safety Council, or another provider with curriculum that is in compliance with nationally accepted guidelines established by the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or the National Safety Council. Instructors teaching First Aid must be certified as First Aid instructors by the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, the National Safety Council, or another provider with curriculum that is in compliance with nationally accepted guidelines established by the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or the National Safety Council.
(3) Out-of-state instructors or presenters offering continuing education in Texas on massage therapy techniques or involving the manipulation of soft tissue must be in compliance with any licensure, registration or certification requirements for massage therapists and massage therapy instructors in the instructor or presenter's home state or be licensed to practice medicine, occupational therapy, chiropractic, athletic training, physical therapy, or nursing. If the instructor or presenter's home state does not have licensure, registration or certification requirements for massage therapists and massage therapy instructors, the instructor or presenter must provide documentation of education or practical experience specific to the continuing education being offered.
Continuing education which otherwise meets the standards of this section but is offered or presented online or by correspondence is acceptable only if the subject matter is not massage therapy techniques or manipulation of soft tissue.
Continuing education completed out-of-state may be accepted by the department if it is approved by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork. Additional information regarding the continuing education may be required for departmental review.
The department shall not give continuing education credit for:
(1) education incidental to the regular professional activities of a massage therapist, such as learning occurring from experience or research;
(2) professional organizational activity, such as serving on committees or councils or as an officer in a professional organization;
(3) college academic courses which are audited or not taken for credit;
(4) independent study except online or correspondence courses in accordance with §140.321(c) of this title (relating to Acceptable Continuing Education for Massage Therapists); or
(5) any experience which does not fit the types of acceptable continuing education in this section.
Each state has its own requirements of what is acceptable as a CE course. Be sure that you check with your regulatory agency to verify that a course from NCBTMB is approved, as well, as the course subject you selected.
For a link to all state boards, click here.
Be sure that you keep a copy of all certificates for courses you have completed. In Texas you are required to maintain a record for a period of 2 years. Only courses taken during the 2 year period between renewals is acceptable for CE credit at renewal. You should talk to your state board to determine exactly how long you should keep your hours and how long they are valid for.
Be sure that you have talked to your state massage therapy board to find out if courses from other states are acceptable. For a link to all state boards, click here
To take our courses there are new prequisets. Anyone can take them for fun if they choose too! If you are a licenced massage therapist in your demographic you should be able to use it towards your CE hours.
Each of our courses have different hours allocated. The course hours will be listed along with the price for each course in the description. As technology changes, we will update this area. However, for the best experience possible, make sure to keep your software and hardware up-to-date.
Each of our courses have different hours allocated. The course hours will be listed along with the price for each course in the description.
Our classes are different from many of the traditional online eLearning classes. Each of our online eLearning classes are designed to keep you engaged and actively participating during the course. Therefore, we have created them to be exactly the amount of time that you will be receiving as credit hours.
Many online eLearning classes allow you to download a .pdf and then log back in to take a test. There is no real structure to the hours. Other classes require you to click through slides that require you to be on the screen for a couple minutes. This type of eLearning is boring and very easy to get distracted because of the requirement to stay on a page longer than it takes you to read it. You will see pretty fast why our courses are different! Check out our demo!
Our online courses are designed with you in mind. We do not believe that online eLearning courses should be boring. We want you to be engaged and actively participating during your class so that you will learn more.
Our online courses are available 24/7 and on any device. You are able to save your progress and change devices at any point of your course. This allows you to work on your course whenever or wherever you can find the time.
Our onsite courses are offered at our Texas Massage Academy campus located at 400 Center Ave in Brownwood, Texas. With our busy class schedule, we currently only offer classes a few times a year.
Be sure to keep an eye on our Texas CEU Facebook page and Texas Massage Academy Facebook page for all our upcoming onsite classes.
Upon completion of your course, you will be able to print your certificate.
Your certificate is located at….I don’t know exactly where until we have the LMS going
We accept payment for our online courses via Paypal. You are not required to have a paypal account to purchase a course. You can use a debit or credit card to pay through paypal.
All of our onsite courses are prepaid. You will be required to pay via credit card when booking online or over the phone. If you are local, you may stop by to pay in cash. We accept all major credit cards.
We are in the process of getting our NCBTMB approval. This allows the majority of massage therapists to take any of our online CE courses for credit. Be sure that you do check with your state board to verify that NCBTMB courses are approved.
Don’t worry, your certificate is still safe. You can print out another copy by going to…to fill in when we get the LMS setup
We are always in the process of adding additional courses. If you are looking for something specific, let us know. We may have the courses you are looking for in the works. You can email us at….
We want to make your CE courses as painless as possible. However, with ever-changing technology sometimes things change overnight. We do our best to stay on top of technology and keep you right on track!
Yep, you read that right!
We do everything in our power to make sure you can use any device or operating system to take your online courses. Now keep in mind, older devices will not function as well or at all.
See our list of requiremements below.
Internet Explorer® 8.0 or newer
Any version of:
For Internet Explorer, version 10 or newer is needed to support the full use of the new shadow, rotation, opacity and reflection effects.
Nope! Just an up-to-date browser! Also make sure all your graphic drivers are up todate! Free techie support, manafactures update their drivers and it's worth the check to see if you need them!
Yes, all of our courses have audio with them. So speakers are a must. Plus, it's more fun that way.
Our courses, when purchased, are usable for a year. So you have plent of time!
Nope everything is rendered out 3d or taken care of already! No need for any special software or hardware, however having a good video card never hurts!
Yes, all sections of the courses are timed as well as documented. This is not a requirement of the state, as of yet, but does protect you in the futuere if you might need verifcation! Also, if a course is allocated for 3 hours, it will be at least 3 hrs.
We take care of all that for you! You just sit back and soak up the data and we'll take care of all the submissions for you! However, you will be able to print and save your certificate of completion after you pass the exam at the end of the course. Save it for your records, it's all about great record keeping!
Of course! Our LMS and https takes care of all that for you!
Now that might be a problem! However, bases off our rocket science programming, it should alow you to return to the last page your were on or the one before!
In the unlikely event this happens, call our help desk at 325-646-4272 and ask for the Ce IT department.
Do you know how EASY it is to become a CE provider? Actually, it's really easy! However, becoming a licensed massage school is way more indepth and difficult! So, when looking for your CE courses, be it online or in a classroom, make sure the quality of learning is there before you buy! You have worked hard for your money! The last thing you want to do is waste it! Also, in the future if a course you are taking is not being stringent on the length of the course, meaning they tell you to read the: ebook, pdf, or any other downloable format, you are wasting your hard earned cash! There is no way to validate the course time and TDLR will not, accept archaic style of learning.
While Texasceu.com opened it's doors in 2017, we have been teaching massage since 2011 at Texas Massage Academy. While noticing a need in CE online training we decided to leverage our experience in both areas. We have over 25+ years in eLearning experience! Some of our employees have worked for some, if not the biggest, companies supplying media solutions though out the United States.
Over 25 years. Not just in eLearning but meida developement so, yea we love technology!
We sure do! While our courses are more extensive in creation it will take a little while longer to get more classes for you up and running! But keep your browswer pointed at us, lots more to come!
We are in the process of getting our national certification, but our Texas MS License number is MS1040.
We are working on it and will be soon :)
We can understand why this might be a show stopper for you! However, we are building our courseware or classes so that they will be compliant with the changes that are happening in the massage world right now! Due to the complexity and that some states may be requiring special requirements, it leads to a more complex developmet and delivery platforms and therfore costs a bit more. However, we try to keep them as costeffective as possible. The downloadable courses that are in place now will not be compliant in the future, as we see it!
We are located in central Texas, Brownwood to be exact! We centally loacated from: Dallas, Fort Worth, Stephenville, San Angelo, Abilene, Austin and San Antonio.
Well, not only are we a company that does massage we also take CE courses! Over the years while we have experienced a great number of technique classes, the online community is lacking! Some might have great informatin but it's boring and outdated. We want to change that, as well as sticking with the state requirements!